We already know the winners of the 14th Millennium Docs Against Gravity Film Festival!

The Main Competition of the Millennium Docs Against Gravity festival for the Grand Prix – Bank Millennium Award and 8 000 euros was won by “Last Men in Aleppo” directed by Firas Fayyad. The award was given by the following jury: Agnieszka Traczewska, Mariusz Grzegorek and Jan P. Matuszyński. The award is funded by the Festival Sponsor: Bank Millennium. The Award was presented on Bank Millennium’s behalf by Wojciech Rybak, Member of the Management Board. Additionally two films received special mentions: “The Good Postman” (dir. Tonislav Hristov) and “Safari” (dir. Ulrich Seidl). “The Good Postman” received the Lower Silesia Grand Prix. In Wrocław also the film “Last Men in Aleppo” by Firas Fayyad received a special mention.

On Saturday May 20th a special 14th Millennium Docs Against Gravity awards gala ceremony was held in Teatr Studio in Warsaw. The ceremony hosts were: Artur Liebhart, Director of the Festival and Agnieszka Szydłowska, Journalist from Channel 3 of public radio. Wacław Zimpel, winner of Polityka’s Passport took care of the music. Awards were granted in 10 different competitions.

The jury’s justification for the Millennium Grand Prix Award:

Film allows you to show a deeper and more complex image of reality than hundreds of media news reports would.

The film which has moved us the most shows not only a great drama in a seemingly remote part of the world but, above all, people who choose heroic conduct over an escape from an overwhelming threat.

Their struggle to maintain their humanity makes us ask ourselves questions about the limits of sacrificing ourselves for others and engagement in conflicts which seem not to concern us.

Jury’s justification for granting the film “Good Postman” a special mention:

For a tragicomic and insightful image of a small, disintegrating community, which becomes a touching metaphor of universal European problems.

Jury’s justification for granting the film “Safari” a special mention:

For the director’s technical perfection in showing vanity and ignorance as well as for the uncompromising presentation of a world we do not see in nature films.

Fiction/Non-Fiction Award

The decision concerning the verdict was taken by the jury composed of Marta Minorowicz, Syllas Tzoumerkas, Tomasz Wasilewski. The Fiction/Non-Fiction Award for the best film, which combines documentary and fiction, goes to the film “House in the Fields” (dir. Tala Hadid).

Lower Silesia Grand Prix

Also on May 20th the Wrocław part of the Festival also came to an end. There the jury composed of: Konrad Imiela, Robert Gonera, Agnieszka Wolny-Hamkało, awarded the Lower Silesia Grand Prix of the Marshal of Lower Silesian Voivodeship to the film “The Good Postman” by Tonislav Hristov and gave a special mention to “Last Men in Aleppo” by Faras Fayyad.

Amnesty International Award

The Amnesty International Award for the best film about human rights was granted by the jury composed of: Draginja Nadaždin, Mirosław Chojecki and Tadeusz Sobolewski. The winner film is “The War Show” (dir. Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon).

Two films received Amnesty International special mentions:

A special mention goes to the film “Stranger in Paradise” (dir. Guido Hendrikx). A special mention went to The Trial: The State of Russia vs Oleg Sentsov” (dir. Askold Kurov)

Chopin’s Nose Award

The jury Composed of Anda Rottenberg, Agnieszka Obszańska and Wacław Zimpel made the decision to grant the award for the best music and art film to the film „La Chana” (dir. Lucija Stojevic). The film “Beuys” (dir. Andres Veiel) received a special mention..

“Co jest grane 24” Readers’ Choice Award

The “Co Jest Grane 24” readers who were voting in Warsaw, Wrocław, Gdynia and Bydgoszcz decided to grant the award to the film „Happy Olo – The Merry Tale of Olo Doba” (dir. Krzysztof Paweł Bogocz, Marcin Macuk)..

Green Warsaw Award

The jury composed of Leszek Drogosz, Justyna Kościńska and Nina Józefina Bąk granted the award for the best film on ecology to the film “The Tipping Point. Energy aNew”, (dir. Łukasz Bluszcz). The jury granted a special mention to the film “SEED: The Untold Story” (dir. Jon Betz, Taggart Siegel). A special mention is given to the film “In The Name of The Animals” (dir. Sabine Kückelmann).

“Zwierciadło” monthly Award for Best Psychological Film

The “Zwierciadło” magazine gave an award for the best psychological film to “We’ll be Alright” (dir. Aleksander Kuznecow)..

“Focus” monthly Award for the Greatest Personality of the Festival

The “Focus” magazine gave the Award for the Greatest Personality of the Festival to the film “Amateurs in Space” (dir. Max Kestner).


Intergenerational Jury composed of high school students who cooperate with Documentary Academy and the participants of the program Archipelag Pokoleń (Archipelago of Generations) grants the Documentary Academy Award to: “MONSTER IN THE MIND” (dir. Jean Carper). “Normal Autistic Film” (dir. Miroslav Janek) receives a special mention. .